Aggravated DWI Lawyers in New York
Dedicated to Getting You the Results You Need
Under New York State law, no person shall operate a motor vehicle while such person has a blood alcohol content of 0.18 percent or greater as shown by a chemical analysis of such person’s blood, breath, urine, or saliva. If the defendant has been convicted of a crime in violation of Vehicle and Traffic Law Section 1192(2), 1192(2-a), 1192(3), 1192(4), 1192(4-a) or in violation of Penal Law Section 120.03, 120.04, 125.13, or 125.14 within the previous 10 years, a conviction of aggravated driving while intoxicated per se is a Class E felony. If the defendant has been convicted of a crime in violation of any of the previously listed crimes twice in the previous 10 years, a conviction of aggravated driving while intoxicated per se is a class D felony.
To learn more about aggravated DWI and how Lebedin Kofman LLP can assist you, call us at (646) 663-4430 for a free consultation. Our New York aggravated DWI lawyers can help.
About Aggravated DWI Charges
A motor vehicle as defined by this statute means every vehicle operated or driven upon a public highway which is propelled by any power other than muscular power. A person operates a motor vehicle by driving it or when he or she is sitting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle for the purpose of placing the vehicle in motion. A person may be considered to be operating a vehicle even if the vehicle is not moving but the engine is running.
The device used to measure blood alcohol content (BAC), as well as the following, must be considered when determining the accuracy of the results of a chemical test: (1) The qualifications and reliability of the person who gave the test; (2) the lapse of time between the operation of the motor vehicle and the giving of the test; (3) whether the device used was in good working order at the time the test was administered; and (4) whether the test was given properly. Evidence that the test was administered by a professional possessing a valid New York State Department of Health permit allows for the presumption that the test was done properly.
Determining whether a person is impaired is not dependent upon any particular chemical or physical test. Instead, to determine whether the defendant’s ability to operate a motor vehicle was impaired, all surrounding facts and circumstances must be considered.
This includes the following:
- The defendant’s physical condition and appearance, balance and coordination, and manner of speech.
- The presence or absence of an odor of alcohol.
- The manner in which the defendant operated the motor vehicle.
- Testimony regarding the defendant’s sobriety.
- Circumstances of an accident.
- The results of any test of BAC of the defendant’s blood.
To find a defendant guilty of driving while impaired by alcohol, the prosecution must be able to prove beyond a reasonable doubt two elements: (1) That on the alleged date, the defendant operated a motor vehicle; and (2) the defendant operated the motor vehicle while his or her BAC was 0.18 as shown by a chemical analysis of such person’s blood, breath, urine, or saliva.
To schedule your free initial consultation with our aggravated DWI attorneys in New York, contact Lebedin Kofman LLP today at (646) 663-4430.
He was able to dismiss my case and save tons of money on future fines- G
This law firm is extremely professional and knowledgeable.- Jack
They worked, fought and won my case.- Bernadette
He got the case completely dismissed.- Gwendolyn
Highly recommend this lawyer.- Gogo