Available 24/7. FREE attorney consultation via phone, video conferencing, or in person

Call For Your Free Consultation

License Revocation Lawyers in New York

Protecting Your Driver’s License & Fighting for Your Rights

If you have a breathalyzer reading over 0.08, the judge will suspend your license on an alcohol-related arrest. There is something called a Pringle Hearing, which has come down from the courts of New York. If you actually have a reading that is 0.10 or lower, and if your attorney makes the proper arguments, then you should be able to keep your license after the Pringle Hearing. However, we do not see these arguments advanced very often.

Furthermore, you might be able to get something called a hardship license if, at the arraignment, you or your attorney successfully argue that you have a genuine hardship. The court would have to schedule a hearing within three days so that you can present all the routes you will take to work, how you will get there if you cannot drive, and how long it would take you. To speak with an experienced New York City DWI lawyer, call today.

To learn more about your situation and how our New York license revocation attorneys can assist you, call New York City criminal attorney Lebedin Kofman LLP today at (646) 663-4430 or contact us online.

You Need to Testify & Prove Certain Things in Order to Qualify for a Hardship License

You would have to testify and attest that there is no one else in your family who can drive you, and that a hardship license will be the only way you can get to and from work.

If the judge finds you have enough reasons, they may give you a hardship license so you can get to and from work on certain times of the day and certain days of the week; however, you will need to have a fixed location of work which you go to on specific days.

You will not be allowed to drive near certain locations during the day, or else you will not be able to get a hardship license. You would not be able to do anything other than wait 30 days and then get a conditional driver’s license 30 days after you were arrested and arraigned.

You Might Have to Install an Ignition Interlock Device

Generally, people who have been convicted of a misdemeanor DWI or higher are required to have the interlock device installed, provided there is an allegation of driving while under the influence of alcohol and not under the influence of drugs.

You have to be very careful if you get this device installed. Firstly, it is very expensive. The ignition interlock device can cost approximately $1,500 to have it installed for the period of a year, and during this time you have to keep it monitored, and it would have to be installed on any and all vehicles in your household.

Call (646) 663-4430 or contact us online now to set up a free initial consultation with our Experienced DWI Lawyers.

Schedule A free Consultation

The Ignition Interlock Device Will Take Your Picture Whenever You Blow into It

Schedule A free Consultation

The ignition interlock device will take a picture of you when you blow into the straw before the car starts. You may also be required to blow into the device again while you are driving. The device will take a picture of you when you start the car as well as when you do the additional breath tests.

Common Mistakes People Make That Cause Issues with the Interlock Device

People generally make mistakes, such as going out and drinking the night before and not realizing they still have alcohol in their system the next morning when they get behind the wheel of the car.

The person may repeatedly blow a breath alcohol reading of 0.08 or a 0.10 because they came home at 4, 5, or 6 in the morning and it is now just 10 or 11 o’clock. They may not feel drunk, but they could still be legally intoxicated or impaired.

Judges Can Be Very Harsh for Violations Concerning the Interlock Device

A judge will treat a person very harshly for any interlock violations while they are on probation. The judge would then re-calendar the case and drag the person back into court to face the music for the violation.

This is one of the reasons why it is a good idea to fight as hard as possible to not have the device installed. If you do have it installed, you will need to make sure not to make any mistakes while using it.

How Can I Get My Driver's License Reinstated?

These drivers can receive driver’s license reinstatement in New York if they complete the following:

  • Impaired Driver Program: A court-ordered education program designed to reduce the effects of alcohol-related crashes, the IDP consists of classroom sessions, screenings, and assessments. Drivers who fail to adhere to the IDP terms could be kicked out of their programs and lose their conditional licenses.
  • Other evaluations or required treatments: These are case-specific, and can include drug screenings, probation meetings, and other services.

A driver must show proof that they have paid the DMV the court-ordered penalties and other required fees to get their license restored. These fees can include license reinstatement fees and civil penalties.

What Happens if I Drive With a Suspended License?

Driver’s license suspension may be in place before a DWI case is brought to court. Sometimes people don’t realize that a suspension is in effect and they still get behind the wheel. Regardless of the driver’s reason for driving with a revoked license, it could lead to more criminal charges or penalties.

Driving on a New York revoked license can lead to fines of up to $200 and even jail time. Drivers who are driving under the influence of alcohol can have their cars seized and face DWI charges. They can also be subject to a $5,000 fine.

You Need to Have It Installed on All Your Vehicles Unless There Is an Exception

It is an exception if you do not have an order from the judge saying that the interlock will have to be installed on every vehicle you operate. Otherwise, it will have to be installed on every vehicle you use.

You can get arrested for a misdemeanor for failing to install an ignition interlock device if you get pulled over and the police officer sees you have this requirement on your license but have not installed the device.

The only thing you can do, which is an exception, is you will not need to have the ignition interlock device installed on a vehicle that is from your place of employment and that you use for work.

You will still have to carry a letter with you from your boss with the license plate and make of the vehicle in your name, saying that he or she knows you have a requirement for an ignition interlock, and that even though they are aware this car will be used by you and others for work, they understand that no interlock will have to be installed on that vehicle.

Call our license revocation attorneys in New York today at (646) 663-4430 to schedule a free consultation and learn more about how we can help you.

Our Clients Share Their Experiences

The Opinions That Matter Most

Our Commitment

Fighting For Your Best Interest

We Have a Highly Experienced Legal Team

When You Hire Us, You Get Us

We Speak Korean, Mandarin, Portuguese, Russian & Spanish

We Offer Free Consultations In Person & Over The Phone

We Have a Proven Track Record

We Are Available 24/7

Request a Free Consultation

Please fill out the form below and we will respond to your inquiry within
24-hours guaranteed.